Captive

Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

A new movie based on the real story which occurred 10 years ago.

On March 11, 2005 a rapist named Brian Nichols was on trial in Atlanta. He’d already spent time in prison awaiting his trial. But when he was brought to the Fulton county courthouse, Nichols grabbed the deputy’s gun and shot and killed the judge, the court reporter, a deputy sheriff, and a federal agent, leaving four dead as he escaped the courthouse.

A massive manhunt was launched in and around Atlanta, but Nichols kidnapped a young woman named Ashley Smith, took over her house to hide out, and tired her up in the bathtub. Ashley was a meth addict, a young widow whose husband had been killed in a drug-related murder, and she had just lost custody of her little girl due to her addiction.

So a murderer and meth addict – two hopeless people - were now thrown together in a crisis, while the police manhunt searched for Nichols.

Just prior to being taken hostage, Ashley had started attending a Celebrate Recovery for her addiction and had started reading a copy of The Purpose Driven Life that she’d been given. She had first thrown the book away, but her friend fished it out of the trash can and gave it to her a second time, the next day.

So while the murderer was holding her hostage and hiding from the police, Ashley began to read portions of The Purpose Driven Life to her captor. His harshness began to soften, hope began to rise in his heart, and he began to wonder if maybe God has a purpose for his life.

As they talked about what Ashley had read to Brian Nichols, Ashley fixed a breakfast of pancakes for her captor and he responded by hanging some curtains for her. With great courage and compassion, Ashley convinced Brian that God did have a purpose for his life so he set her free and peacefully turned himself in to the police. It was a flat-out miracle. It was moment of redemption for both, and a second chance for both people who had felt so hopeless.

The Captive

Пленник (Ru)

Внимание, откроется в новом окне. PDFПечатьE-mail

Вышел новый фильм, основанный на реальной истории, произошедшей 10 лет назад.

11 марта 2005 убийца и насильник по имени Брайан Николс находился под следствием в Атланте. Он уже сидел в тюрьме, ожидая решения суда. Когда его привели в здание суда округа Фултон, Николс выхватил оружие у помощника шерифа и застрелил судью, стенографиста, помощника шерифа и федерального агента, все эти четыре человека были мертвы, когда он выбежал из здания суда.

Была организована крупномасштабная операция по захвату преступника в Атланте, но Николс ворвался в дом молодой женщины по имени Эшли Смит, взяв ее в заложники. Эшли, в прошлом наркоманка, молодая вдова, муж которой был убит из-за наркотиков, только что лишилась прав воспитывать свою маленькую дочь из-за своей склонности к наркотикам.

Итак, убийца и наркоманка – два безнадежных человека - находились вместе в отчаянии, в то время как полицейские искали Николса.

До того, как Эшли была взята в заложники, она начала посещать группу по реабилитации, где ей подарили книгу пастора Рика Уоррена "Целеустремленная жизнь", которую там изучали. Она сначала выбросила книгу, но ее подруга вытащила книгу из мусорного ведра и снова дала ей на следующий день.

В то время, как убийца держал ее в заложниках, скрываясь от полиции, Эшли начала читать эту книгу ее похитителю. Его резкость начала спадать, в его сердце начала зарождаться надежда, и он начал задаваться вопросом: может быть у Бога есть цель для его жизни.

Все это время они были вместе, размышляя над книгой. Эшли готовила блинчики для ее похитителя, и он тоже помогал ей в домашних делах. С большой храбростью и состраданием, Эшли убедила Брайана, что у Бога действительно есть цель для его жизни. В результате Брайан освободил ее и сдался полиции. Это было невероятное чудо. Это стало моментом искупления, вторым шансом для двух человек, которые до этого чувствовали себя полностью безнадежными.

Фильм "Пленник" (на русском).